India starts UN Security Council term vowing to speak against terror – india news

India began its eighth term as a non-executive member of the United Nations Security Council on Monday with the goal of raising a voice against terrorism, representing developing countries and providing a “human-centered and inclusive solution” to world peace and security issues. . .

India technically joined the Security Council on the 1st of January, a public holiday. This term of office began on Monday with a flag-installation ceremony in which four other countries, including Norway, Ireland, Kenya and Mexico, joined as non-regular members.

“We will use our tenure to provide a comprehensive, human-centered solution to international peace and security issues. India will be the voice of developing countries,” said TS Tirumurti, the UN’s Standing Representative for India, after a short meal.

“We will not hesitate to raise our voices against common enemies of humanity such as terror,” he added.

The Standing Representatives also reiterated India’s “very strong commitment to a reformed multilateralism”, in order to make it more representative of the current world, including the Security Council (permanent membership for itself), which has expanded mainly in the context of the United Nations. I did.

“India is the largest democratic country representing one sixth of humanity, and has joined the Security Council with a reformed, multi-independent, rule of law, a fair and equitable international system and a strong commitment to peace, security and development,” said Tiru Murti. “From Kashmir to Kanyakumari, we are united as one, tied to our spirit of dedication to democracy, pluralism and fundamental rights.”

India will also use this term to focus on peacekeeping, peacebuilding, maritime security, especially women and youth in conflict situations, adding that technology with human faces will get our attention in Congress.

India, Norway, Kenya, Ireland and Mexico already join Vietnam, Niger, Estonia, Tunisia and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines with 5 non-permanent members and 5 permanent members (USA, UK, France). , Russia and China.

India won its eighth election last June, winning 184 out of 192 votes. She was the last to be in Congress after a two-year term ending in 2012. Previous terms were 1950-1951, 1967-1968, 1972-1973, 1977-1978, 1984-1985 and 1991-1992.